Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightOppn to move...

Oppn to move no-confidence motion against govt on August 8 in LS; PM to reply on 10th

Oppn to move no-confidence motion against govt on August 8 in LS; PM to reply on 10th

New Delhi: The opposition is set to move the no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi-led BJP government over Manipur violence and other issues, in the Lok Sabha on August 8. Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi will move the motion.

According to the list of business for Tuesday (August 8), Gogoi will move the no-confidence motion, which says "That this House expresses its want of confidence in the Council of Ministers".

According to Parliament sources, the discussion on the no-confidence motion is expected to begin once it is moved on August 8, and is likely to continue throughout the next two days, i.e., August 9 and 10.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to reply to the discussion on the motion on August 10.

The agenda of business for August 9 and 10, however, is yet to be announced officially.

Also Read: Kharge, Rahul meet Karnataka ministers to discuss LS polls 2024

On August 1, the Congress-led opposition alliance INDIA's floor leaders had boycotted the business advisory committee (BAC) meeting called by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, in protest against the government not officially confirming any date for initiating discussion on the no-confidence motion brought against it.

However, later on the same day, official sources had said that the discussion on the no-confidence motion is likely to be taken up between August 8, 9 and 10, though it was not officially confirmed at that time.

Birla on July 26 had informed the Lok Sabha that he had received the no-confidence motion from Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi under rule 193.

The rulebook gives the Speaker a window of 10 days to start the debate.

“The Speaker shall declare that leave is granted and that the motion will be taken up on such day, not being more than ten days from the date on which the leave is asked for,” says Rule 198 of the Lok Sabha.

The monsoon session is scheduled to end on August 11. This is the second no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government- the NDA defeated one in 2018 and the 28th since 1952.

This is also the seventh instance of the Lok Sabha discussing a no-confidence motion within 12 months of national polls.

The BJP has 303 members in the Lok Sabha, and with its allies, the NDA has 336. The Opposition INDIA has 134 members in the Lower House.

Also Read: BJP Minister threatens Oppn MPs with ED raids in Parliament for interrupting speech

Show Full Article
TAGS:CongressBJPNo confidence motionLok SabhaOppositionPM Modi
Next Story