Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Ramadan: Its essence and lessons
access_time 13 March 2024 9:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBJP set to rule 12...

BJP set to rule 12 states on its own, plus coalition partner in 4 govts

BJP set to rule 12 states on its own, plus coalition partner in 4 govts

New Delhi: The results for four states yesterday has given the BJP the distinction of being the single party to rule most states in the country.

The saffron party is now in power in 12 states after retaining Madhya Pradesh and winning Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan, while the Congress rule is reduced to only three states.

The BJP returned to power in Madhya Pradesh with a brute majority of 165 seats in the 230-member Assembly.

In Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan the party repeated victory with a massive mandate.

The Congress, besides with its victory in Telangana, is now in power in Karnataka and Himachal Pradesh.

The grand old party was hoping for a second term in Chhattisgarh as well as Rajasthan, when its dreams shattered in the mighty wave favouring the BJP.

Besides victory in three states yesterday, BJP is in the power on its own in Uttarakhand, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Goa, Assam, Tripura, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh.

The saffron party is also part of the ruling coalition in four states -- Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Sikkim.

The states ruled by the BJP-led NDA will now account for almost half of the 543 Lok Sabha seats.

More important, only two states, accounting for less than 50 Lok Sabha seats, are now governed by parties not aligned with either the NDA or the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) of opposition parties.

The Congress is also part of the ruling coalitions in Bihar with Grand Alliance partners -- RJD and the JD-U and Jharkhand with the JMM.

It is also an ally of the DMK, which is in power in Tamil Nadu. However, the Congress is not part of the Tamil Nadu government.

Meanwhile, the AAP, with its governments in Delhi and Punjab, is the third biggest national party.

IANS with edits

Show Full Article
TAGS:New DelhiIndia News
Next Story