Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightWorldchevron_rightUS supports UNSC...

US supports UNSC reforms after Musk’s backing for India’s permanent seat

US supports UNSC reforms after Musk’s backing for India’s permanent seat

Washington: Weeks after Elon Musk pressed for India’s permanent seat at the UN Security Council, US State Department Principal Deputy Spokesperson Vedant Patel said on Wednesday that the US has offered support for reforms in United Nations’ institutions, NDTV reported.

Tesla CEO Elon Musk termed India having no permanent seat in the UNSC 'absurd,’ giving rise to conversations around the changing equations in global powers and the UN’s adaptability to accept diverse voices.

Vedant Patel said: "The President has spoken about this before in his remarks to the UN General Assembly, and the Secretary has alluded to this as well. We certainly support reforms to the UN institution, including the Security Council, to make it reflective of the 21st-century world that we live in. I don't have any specifics to offer on what those steps are, but certainly, we recognise that there is a need for reform, but I will leave it at that for now."

Elon Musk, who is planning to visit India shortly, earlier in January said that nations with excess power would not relinquish it, according to NDTV.

Back then Musk posted on platform X: "At some point, there needs to be a revision of the UN bodies. Problem is that those with excess power don't want to give it up. India not having a permanent seat on the Security Council, despite being the most populous country on Earth, is absurd. Africa collectively should also have a permanent seat imo."

India’s move to gain a permanent seat in UN Security Council to represent developing world has gained momentum from the support of the international community.

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is made up of 15 member countries, which include five permanent members with veto powers: China, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, and the United States.

The ten non-permanent members are elected for two-year terms by the UNGA.

Show Full Article
TAGS:UNSCElon MuskWorld NewsIndia in UN
Next Story