Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightPravasi Bharatiya...

Pravasi Bharatiya Samman to be awarded to 27 Indians abroad

Pravasi Bharatiya Samman to be awarded to 27 Indians abroad

New Delhi: One of 27 recipients of the 2023 Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award, the highest honour given to Indians living abroad, is the president of Guyana, Mohamed Irfaan Ali. Another recipient is the renowned Canadian scientist Dr Vaikuntam Iyer Lakshmanan.

President Droupadi Murmu will present the honour as a part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention, which takes place from January 8–10 in Indore.

Born to an Indo-Guyanese Muslim family, Ali took oath as President in August 2020.

He will also be the chief guest at the 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention.

Polish businessman from Goa Amit Kailash Chandra Lath, 45, who helped in the evacuation of Indian students from Ukraine into Poland when war with Russia broke out, is also a recipient of the award.

Scientist and innovator Dr Vaikuntam Iyer Lakshmanan, who moved to Canada in 1974, channelled his passion for community service through supporting organizations like the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce and Canada-India Business Council.

He has sponsored clean drinking water systems and a mobile hospital in rural India and received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Indo-Canadian Chamber of Commerce in 2019.

Among other recipients are FedEx Corporation CEO Rajesh Subramaniam, Australian economist Chennupati Jagadish, and Israel-based chef Reena Vinod Pushkarna.

"A Jury-cum-Awards Committee, with Vice-President as the Chairman and External Affairs Minister as the Vice-Chair and other distinguished members from various walks of life considered the nominations... and unanimously selected the awardees," a Ministry of External Affairs statement read.

With inputs from IANS

Show Full Article
TAGS:President MurmuPravasi Bharatiya Samman
Next Story