Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightPM Modi sworn in for...

PM Modi sworn in for historic third term, 30 cabinet ministers take oath

Modi cabinet

Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister for a record third term today, matching Jawaharlal Nehru's achievement of three consecutive terms.

The swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan drew significant attention, with around 50 ministers expected to take the oath alongside Modi, although the full composition of the new cabinet is yet to be announced.

The ceremony saw several prominent figures taking the oath, indicating a mix of seasoned politicians and new faces in the cabinet.

The list includes a mix of key veterans like Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, and Nirmala Sitharaman, who have been instrumental in previous administrations, as well as new entrants such as Jyotiraditya Scindia and Ashwini Vaishnaw, who bring fresh perspectives to the cabinet. Prominent leaders from diverse regions and backgrounds have been inducted, reflecting the BJP's strategy to maintain a broad base of support.

The cabinet includes representatives from various states and political allies, signaling an inclusive approach to governance.

Here are the ministers who took the oath:

Rajnath Singh

Amit Shah

Nitin Gadkari

JP Nadda

Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Nirmala Sitharaman

S Jaishankar

Manohar Lal Khattar

HD Kumaraswamy

Piyush Goyal

Dharmendra Pradhan

Jitan Ram Manjhi

Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh

Sarbananda Sonowal

Dr Virendra Kumar

Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu

Pralhad Joshi

Jual Oram

Giriraj Singh

Ashwini Vaishnaw

Jyotiraditya Scindia

Bhupender Yadav

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Annapurna Devi

Kiren Rijiju

Hardeep Singh Puri

Mansukh Mandaviya

G Kishan Reddy

Chirag Paswan

CR Patil

Rao Inderjit Singh

Jitendra Singh

Arjun Ram Meghwal

Prataprao Ganpatrao Jadhav

Jayant Chaudhary

Jitin Prasada

Shripad Naik

Pankaj Chaudhary

Krishan Pal Gurjar

Ramdas Athawale

Ram Nath Thakur

Nityanand Rai

Anupriya Patel

V Somanna

Dr Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani

SP Singh Baghel

Shobha Karandlaje

Kirti Vardhan Singh

BL Verma

Shantanu Thakur

Suresh Gopi

L Murugan

Ajay Tamta

Bandi Sanjay Kumar

Kamlesh Paswan

Bhagirath Chaudhary

Satish Chandra Dubey

Sanjay Seth

Ravneet Singh Bittu

Durga Das Uikey

Raksha Khadse

Sukanta Majumdar

Savitri Thakur

The cabinet is expected to tackle significant challenges and continue major reforms across sectors. With a focus on economic growth, national security, and social welfare, the new team aims to build on the foundations laid in the previous terms.

As the government sets its agenda, the composition and allocation of portfolios within the cabinet will be closely watched, providing insights into the strategic priorities for the coming years.

Nirmala Sitharaman has made history by being the only woman included in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet for a third consecutive term. Sitharaman, a two-time Union minister, is renowned for her role in steering significant economic reforms during her tenure as Finance Minister in Modi's last term.

Sitharaman, 64, first joined Modi's cabinet in 2014 as the Minister of Industry and Commerce. In 2017, she broke new ground by becoming the Defence Minister. Following the 2019 general elections and the illness of then Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Sitharaman took over the finance portfolio, becoming the first woman to hold this position for a full term. Prior to her, Indira Gandhi had briefly managed the finance portfolio in addition to her duties as Prime Minister.

Throughout her career, Sitharaman has been credited with advancing second-generation economic reforms and maintaining a robust economic policy framework. Her continued presence in the cabinet underscores her significant contributions and the trust placed in her leadership.

Show Full Article
TAGS:New Cabinet Ministers
Next Story