Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightNo-confidence motion...

No-confidence motion against PM Modi govt moved by Gaurav Gogoi, Cong MP

No-confidence motion against PM Modi govt moved by Gaurav Gogoi, Cong MP

New Delhi: Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, the leader of the Congress in the Lower House, informed on Wednesday that Gaurav Gogoi, the party's deputy leader in the Lok Sabha, moved a motion of no-confidence against the Narendra Modi administration on July 26.

At 9:20 a.m., the Congress filed the no-trust motion notice at the Lok Sabha table office. There are only 13 working days remaining in the monsoon session, and according to the procedure, the Lok Sabha Speaker has up to 10 days to schedule a no-confidence motion debate, The Hindu reported.

As a Northeastern Lok Sabha representative, Gogoi, according to Chowdhury, would like to know from the Prime Minister what actions his administration had made to bring peace to Manipur.

“Manipur has been suffering and we have tried for so many days to get a statement from the Prime Minister,” Chowdhury said.

In a three-line whip, the Congress requested that all of its Lok Sabha members be present for a parliamentary party meeting that would begin at 10.30 a.m.

As a no-trust motion needs the support of at least 50 or more members to be adopted in the House, floor leaders of the 26 parties that make up the INDIA bloc are also gathering in the office of Mallikarjun Kharge, the president of the Congress and Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha.

Show Full Article
TAGS:CongressNo Confidence MotionGaurav GogoiPM Modi govt
Next Story