Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
More support for an independent Palestine
access_time 24 May 2024 12:02 PM GMT
When toxins flow through Periyar once again
access_time 23 May 2024 5:34 AM GMT
Eight years balance sheet of LDF government
access_time 22 May 2024 4:58 AM GMT
Ebrahim Raisi
access_time 21 May 2024 5:20 AM GMT
Chabahar Port
access_time 20 May 2024 4:00 AM GMT
What is the remedy for this negligence?
access_time 18 May 2024 12:07 PM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Ramadan: Its essence and lessons
access_time 13 March 2024 9:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightElection dates...

Election dates announced in Tripura, Congress and BJP supporters clash


Majlishpur: An hour after the Election Commission announced the dates for the assembly election in Tripura, BJP and Congress supporters clashed in Majlishpur, West Tripura district. Several people were injured.

Congress leader Dr Ajay Kumar was also injured in the clash at Ranirbazar Mohanpur. Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman told NDTV that several injured party workers are still at Ranirbazar police station. "They haven't been moved to the hospital due to the presence of a large number of BJP workers in the area."

Barman also alleged that a BJP minister was leading the attack and demanded that the election commission conduct polls separately in five constituencies including Majlishpur.

"Law and order have collapsed in Tripura with the election announced in the state. Political violence continues with local MLA present in the violence continued even after the attack on Dr Ajoy Kumar," tweeted INC national secretary Szarita Laitphlang.

The polls are to be held on February 16 and votes will be counted on March 2. In 2018, the BJP-Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance won the elections with a two-thirds majority in the 60-member house and ended the 25-year-long Left rule.

Show Full Article
TAGS:BJP TripuraTripura electionsTripura assembly pollCongress Tripura
Next Story