Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
NEETs credibility must be restored
access_time 14 Jun 2024 11:33 AM GMT
May peace prevail in West Asia
access_time 13 Jun 2024 5:29 AM GMT
The scholar and the ignoramus
access_time 12 Jun 2024 8:08 AM GMT
Modi cabinet
access_time 11 Jun 2024 12:41 PM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightElection Commissioner...

Election Commissioner Arun Goel resigns ahead of Lok Sabha polls

Arun Goel

New Delhi: Just weeks before the Lok Sabha polls, Election Commissioner Arun Goel has submitted his resignation, which has been accepted by the President.

This resignation leaves the Election Commission of India with two vacancies, with only Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar remaining in the three-member panel.

Sources indicated that the Lok Sabha election dates were likely to be announced next week, but Goel's resignation now raises questions about that timeline.

A senior official mentioned that Goel cited personal reasons for his resignation, and while the government attempted to persuade him not to quit, he insisted. Speculations about health concerns were denied, and officials stated that Goel is in perfect health. The government will initiate the process of appointing new election commissioners to fill the vacancies.

A 1985-batch IAS officer, Goel had taken voluntary retirement on November 18, 2022, and was appointed Election Commissioner the next day. His appointment faced a legal challenge in the Supreme Court, which questioned the haste in the process. The court later dismissed the petition, noting that a Constitution Bench had examined the issue and refused to cancel Goel's appointment.

Before his resignation, concerns were already raised about holding the Lok Sabha polls with only two commissioners instead of the requisite three. The other Election Commissioner, Anup Pandey, had retired last month.

Trinamool Congress leader Saket Gokhale expressed serious concerns about Goel's resignation, highlighting the change in the selection process for Election Commissioners.

Under a new law introduced by the Modi government, Election Commissioners will now be appointed by a majority vote of Prime Minister Modi and one Minister chosen by him. With Goel's resignation, the Modi government will now appoint two out of the three Election Commissioners before the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Election CommissionerLok Sabha PollsArun Goel
Next Story