Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
NEETs credibility must be restored
access_time 14 Jun 2024 11:33 AM GMT
May peace prevail in West Asia
access_time 13 Jun 2024 5:29 AM GMT
The scholar and the ignoramus
access_time 12 Jun 2024 8:08 AM GMT
Modi cabinet
access_time 11 Jun 2024 12:41 PM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightEC shuffles home...

EC shuffles home secretaries of six states ahead of Lok Sabha polls

election commmission

New Delhi: In a move aimed at ensuring a fair electoral process for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has decided to transfer the Home Secretaries of six states.

The states affected by this decision include Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttarakhand.

Additionally, the Election Commission also took the decision to remove West Bengal's Director General of Police, Rajeev Kumar.

The decision comes shortly after the announcement of the election schedule for the Lok Sabha polls. Under the leadership of Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, the Election Commission also ordered the removal of the secretaries of the general administrative departments of Mizoram and Himachal Pradesh.

Furthermore, Brihanmumbai Municipal Commissioner Iqbal Singh Chahal, along with additional commissioners and deputy commissioners, faced removal orders.

The Election Commission had previously instructed all state governments to transfer officers involved in election-related work, particularly those who had completed three years in their current positions or were serving in their home districts. However, Maharashtra was found to be non-compliant with these directives, particularly regarding certain municipal commissioners and additional and deputy municipal commissioners.

Expressing dissatisfaction with the state's response, the Election Commission issued directives to transfer the Brihanmumbai Municipal Commissioner and the additional and deputy commissioners by 6 pm on Monday, urging prompt compliance with the orders.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Election CommissionLok Sabha Polls
Next Story