Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightRevamped ITPO complex...

Revamped ITPO complex to be inaugurated by PM Modi on July 26

Revamped ITPO complex to be inaugurated by PM Modi on July 26

New Delhi: The renovated complex of the India Trade Promotion Organization's (ITPO) Pragati Maidan, which will host India's G20 leaders meetings in September, will be formally inaugurated on July 26, the commerce ministry announced on Sunday.

Narendra Modi, the prime minister, is most likely to inaugurate the facility.

As part of the Pragati Maidan redevelopment project, the IECC (Integrated Exhibition-cum-Convention Centre) is being built as a modern complex.

In January 2017, the government approved the proposal of ITPO for the redevelopment of Pragati Maidan by setting up of a world-class IECC in the national capital. The total cost of the project is Rs 2,254 crore. The growing MICE sector needs this kind of investment in the country.

The redevelopment of Pragati Maidan was envisaged in two phases.

With a campus area of about 123 acres, the complex will be one of the largest MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, and Exhibitions) destinations, the ministry said.

"The redeveloped ITPO complex, which will host India's G20 leaders meetings will be inaugurated on 26th July," it said.

ITPO is a body under the commerce ministry. It runs the exhibition centre at Pragati Maidan and is developing IECC.

The ministry said that at level 3 of the complex, a 7,000 seating capacity convention centre has been developed.

The exhibition halls provide a platform for exhibitors and companies to engage with their target audience, fostering business growth and networking opportunities.

"The IECC boasts a magnificent amphitheatre with a seating capacity of 3,000 individuals," it said, adding the amphitheatre sets the stage for performances, cultural shows and entertainment events.

The G20 Leaders' Summit is set to take place in Delhi on September 9-10. The 18th G20 Heads of State and Government Summit in New Delhi will be the culmination of all the G20 meetings held throughout the year by ministers, senior officials and civil society.

A G20 Leaders' Declaration will be also adopted at the conclusion of the New Delhi Summit, stating the leaders' commitment towards the priorities discussed and agreed upon during the respective ministerial and working group meetings.

India is chairing the year-long G20 presidency since December 1, 2022. The national capital is also getting a facelift for the mega event.

The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Türkiye, United Kingdom and United States) and the European Union.

With PTI inputs

Show Full Article
TAGS:G20PM ModiPragati MaidanITPO
Next Story