Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightIndia to commission 20...

India to commission 20 new nuclear power plants by 2031

India to commission 20 new nuclear power plants by 2031

New Delhi: The union government on Wednesday told the Lok Sabha that the country is going to commission 20 nuclear power plants by 2031. This will add nearly 15,000 MW in power generating capacity.

The first of these is likely to be in Kakrapar in Gujarat. The 700 MW unit is expected to be commissioned in 2023. The town already has three atomic power generating units operational. Kalpakkam is also going to have a working power plant by 2025 and it will produce 500 MW. Kudankulam will have two 1000 MW plants by 2025, read the reply written by the Minister of State in the PMO Jitendra Singh.

Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project (units 1&2) contributed 48,382 Million Units of electricity to the national grid between 2017-18 and 2021-22, he added. The total number of Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited employees at present at the Kudankulam site (KKNPP Units 1 to 6) was 1,257.

Rawatbhata in Rajasthan is to have two 700 MW units completed by 2026. By 2027, another two 1000 MW units are expected to be completed at Kudankulam. Gorakhpur in Haryana is also likely to have two 700 MWs by 2029.

Listing out other projects under consideration, the minister said the government had accorded administrative approvals and financial sanctions for building 10 atomic power units of 700 MW each at Gorakhpur, Haryana (units 3&4), Kaiga, Karnataka (units 5&6), Chutka, Madhya Pradesh (units 1&2) and four units at Mahi Banswara in Rajasthan. These are expected to be completed by 2031.

Show Full Article
TAGS:nuclear power plantpower plantnuclear power plant IndiaKudankulam Nuclear Power Project
Next Story