Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightNew Governors...

New Governors appointed by President Murmu in 13 states

New Governors appointed by President Murmu in 13 states

New Delhi: Six additional people were named governors on Sunday, including four BJP officials and former Supreme Court justice S Abdul Nazeer, who served on the constitutional court that upheld the archaeological report on Ayodhya.

President Droupadi Murmu has accepted the resignations of Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari of Maharashtra and Lieutenant Governor R. K. Mathur of Ladakh, according to a Rashtrapati Bhavan statement.

BJP leaders Lakshman Prasad Acharya, C P Radhakrishnan, Shiv Pratap Shukla and Gulab Chand Kataria, who is also the Leader of Opposition in Rajasthan, were nominated as governors in Sikkim, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Assam respectively.

Koshyari was replaced by Jharkhand Governor Ramesh Bais, while Mathur's place was given to the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh Brig B D Mishra (retd).

Retired Supreme Court judge Nazeer was appointed governor of Andhra Pradesh and Lt Gen K T Parnaik (retd) governor of Arunachal Pradesh.

With PTI inputs

Show Full Article
TAGS:President Murmugovernors
Next Story