Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightDMK of INDIA bloc...

DMK of INDIA bloc shows BJP has no place in Tamil Nadu

DMK of INDIA bloc shows BJP has no place in Tamil Nadu

The BJP has not found any respite anywhere in Tamil Nadu where the DMK and its coalition lead in 38 out of 39 seats. In the remaining seat, NDA candidate Sowmiya Anbumani of the PMK is leading, while BJP's state chief K Annamalai is reportedly facing defeat in the Coimbatore constituency.

The DMK leads the INDIA bloc, which comprises the Congress, Left parties, Dalit groups, and minority parties.

According to The Indian Express, the PMK candidate Anbumani's lead linked to their focused campaign on the OBC-Vanniyar community, with minimal BJP involvement. AIADMK's stronghold, Namakkal, remains a tough battle with DMK holding a slim 1,500 vote lead.

Despite initially posing a strong challenge to the DMK in several seats, the AIADMK has been pushed to third place as counting progresses in constituencies like Chennai South, Chennai Central, Vellore, Dharmapuri, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Theni, Ramanathapuram, Tirunelveli, and Kanyakumari. In these constituencies, the BJP maintains the second slot after the DMK. In crucial pockets of Tirunelveli and Tenkasi, AIADMK has even fallen behind Naam Tamilar Katchi led by Tamil nationalist Seeman.

The 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu showcased unanimous decisions by the electorate. AIADMK won 37 out of 39 seats in 2014, and DMK won 38 in 2019. The 2004 elections also saw a sweep with DMK winning all 39 seats. The 2009 elections were an exception, resulting in a divided outcome with a 27-12 ratio in favour of DMK. The 2024 election results suggest another sweep favouring DMK with minor challenges.

Show Full Article
TAGS:DMKNDAINDIA blocLok Sabha Elections 2024Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Results
Next Story