Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightEntertainmentchevron_rightActor Mohanlal...

Actor Mohanlal re-elected as president of AMMA for 3rd consecutive term

Actor Mohanlal re-elected as president of AMMA for 3rd consecutive term

Photo: EPS

Kochi: Actor Mohanlal will serve as president of the Association of Malayalam Movie Artists (AMMA) for a third term in a row. When the list of candidates for the association's various positions, including vice president and general secretary, was released on Wednesday, Mohanlal was the only one running for the presidency of AMMA.

The term will run from 2024 to 2027 for a total of three years. On June 30, elections for the remaining positions will take place in Kochi.

The actor Edavela Babu had previously declared that he would not be running for any positions this time and that he would be stepping down from his position as general secretary. He had been involved with AMMA from its founding in 1994, serving in a number of roles for more than thirty years, including joint secretary and secretary, the New Indian Express reported.

In the meantime, actors Cuckoo Parameswaran, Siddique, and Unni Shivapal have put in their nominations for the general secretary position, and actors Jagadish, Jayan R, and Munju Pilla are running for vice president.

Baburaj Jacob and Anoop Chandran K R are running for the position of joint secretary. Since no other candidates have filed to fill the position, actor Unni Mukundran, who was most recently seen in the Tamil action movie Garudan this year, will take over as AMMA's treasurer.

Ananya, Ansiba Hassan, Joy Mathew, Kalabhavan Shajon, Ramesh Pisharody, Rony David, Sarayu Mohan, Suraj Venjaramood, Suresh Krishna, Tiny Tom, Tovino Thomas, and Vinu Mohan are the candidates running to join the AMMA executive committee.

Four female members should be included in the 17-member governing body of AMMA, according to the organization's bylaws. According to a release, the number of women reserved in the executive committee members to be elected will be announced following the vote count for the office bearer position, as there are two female candidates running for the position.

Show Full Article
Next Story