Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightFootballchevron_rightFIFA awards: Lionel...

FIFA awards: Lionel Messi, Alexia Putellas win best players

FIFA awards: Lionel Messi, Alexia Putellas win best players

Paris: Lionel Messi, the World Cup champion, beat Kylian Mbappé once more to earn the FIFA Best Men's Player Award on Monday.

Alexia Putellas of Spain won the title of top female player for a second consecutive year.

Following Argentina's thrilling World Cup victory over Mbappé's France in Qatar last year, Messi edged over Mbappé and Karim Benzema in the best player poll to win the FIFA award for the seventh time in 14 years.

The three athletes were chosen for the final shortlist by a global jury of national team leaders and coaches, hand-picked journalists from each of FIFA's 211 member nations, and online supporters, Associated Press reported.

The Golden Ball trophy, given by FIFA to the World Cup's best player, was won by Messi, 35, who also defeated Mbappé, who was vying for his first best player honour from the organisation.

Putellas won her award from American Alex Morgan and Beth Mead, who led England to the European Championship title in 2022.

In spite of getting hurt just before the Euro and missing the competition, Barca playmaker Putellas once again placed in the top three.

Mead, who scored the most goals at the Euro along with another player, was voted the best player. She suffered a severe knee injury playing for Arsenal in November and might not be able to attend the Women's World Cup in July in Australia and New Zealand.

When the US claimed the CONCACAF W Championship last year, Morgan, who finished second in the 2019 vote to teammate Megan Rapinoe, was named player of the tournament. She was also the joint top scorer.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Lionel MessiFIFAAlexia Putellas
Next Story