Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Indira Gandhi
access_time 25 Jun 2024 5:00 AM GMT
Greetings to the City of Literature
access_time 24 Jun 2024 5:25 AM GMT
The saffronized corruption in examinations
access_time 22 Jun 2024 4:00 AM GMT
Buds and brains
access_time 21 Jun 2024 6:34 AM GMT
Is Europe leaning to the right?
access_time 20 Jun 2024 6:28 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightSupreme Court did not...

Supreme Court did not impose any fine, says CM in Assembly

Supreme Court did not impose any fine, says CM in Assembly

Thiruvananthapuram: Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Monday informed the state assembly that his government has not tendered an apology and the Supreme Court has not imposed a Rs 25,000 fine.

Seeking leave for an adjournment motion in the Assembly, senior Congress legislator K. Muraleedharan pointed out that due to the attitude of Vijayan, the government had to tender an apology and had to pay a fine of Rs 25,000, which has caused huge embarrassment to the state.

“All this could have been avoided had you (Vijayan) abided by the order, but you did not do it and hence it was a mighty slap on your face,” said Muraleedharan.

But Vijayan in his reply, made it clear that neither was a fine imposed nor was an apology given.

“The court has asked the state government to remit Rs 25,000, it has not said that it’s a fine. Moreover, no apology was also tendered. All we did was to go back to seek clarification, which is the right of a petitioner and we only exercised it,” said Vijayan.

Hitting out at Vijayan, Leader of Opposition Ramesh Chennithala said that the only person who has not understood the judgement was Vijayan.

“You say it’s not a fine, then please let us know if it was a donation or a contribution by the Kerala government to the apex court? If so, then please don’t burden the exchequer, give it from your pocket. This is something that has never happened before and what is unfortunate is that you continue to feign ignorance,” said Chennithala, who voiced unhappiness at the Speaker for denying leave for the adjournment motion and walked out of the house.

Show Full Article
Next Story