Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The scholar and the ignoramus
access_time 12 Jun 2024 8:08 AM GMT
Modi cabinet
access_time 11 Jun 2024 12:41 PM GMT
All of us are victims of war
access_time 10 Jun 2024 4:15 AM GMT
The unending flow of hate
access_time 8 Jun 2024 12:53 PM GMT
The writing on the wall for Kerala
access_time 7 Jun 2024 3:58 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_right22 candidates in BJP's...

22 candidates in BJP's first list for Kerala assembly polls

22 candidates in BJPs first list for Kerala assembly polls

Thiruvananthapuram: The BJP on Sunday released its first list of 22 candidates for the May 16 Kerala assembly elections, which includes veteran O. Rajagopal and newly-appointed state unit president Kummanem Rajasekheran.

Former state BJP presidents, including P.S. Sreedharan Pillai, C.K. Padmanabhan, P.K. Krishna Das and V. Muraleedharan, also figure in the first list.

The BJP is yet to win entry to the 140-member assembly.

In the 2011 assembly polls, three Bharatiya Janata Party candidates came second in their respective segments, while the party's nominees in all other constituencies were distant third.

The first BJP list for the coming assembly polls was released after a daylong meeting of party office-bearers. The seat-sharing with BJP's new ally -- Hindu Ezhava leader Vellapalli Natesan's Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) -- is still not finalised.

The BDJS joined the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance on March 3.

The BJP will field state party spokesperson George Kurien against Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, who has been representing the Puthupally constituency in Kottayam district since 1970.

Rajagopal, a minister of state in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government, has been fielded from Nemom in the Thiruvanthapuram district. He finished second in the 2011 polls.

During by-elections in 2012 (Neyattinkara) and 2015 (Aruvikara), he finished third and was runner-up for the Thiruvananthapuram seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Show Full Article
Next Story