Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightVizhinjam ports board...

Vizhinjam ports board re-constituted

Vizhinjam ports board re-constituted

Thiruvananthapuram: The Board of Directors of the Rs 7,525-crore underconstruction Vizhinjam International deepwater multi-purpose seaport was today reconstituted.

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan is now the Chairman of the port and Ports Minister Kadanapally Ramachandran is the Vice-Chairman.

Chief Minister Vijayan had met Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi recently and informed him that the state governments plan to expedite construction activities of Vizhinjam port, being developed by Gujarat based Adani group. The Prime Minister had also expressed his commitment to make it a reality, an official release said.

Dr Jaykumar has been appointed as Managing Director and CEO. The decisions in this regard were taken at a Kerala Cabinet meeting here Wednesday.

State Finance Minister Dr T M Thomas Issac, Fisheries Minister, J Mercykutty Amma, Power Minister, Kadakanpally Surendran are directors in the board.

Thiruvananthapuram MP, Shashi Tharoor, Chief Secretary, S M Vijayanand are among the members, it said.

Meanwhile, Alexander Jacob, former DGP, has been appointed as the nodal officer of National University for Police Sciences and Security Studies, it added.

Show Full Article
Next Story