Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Eight years balance sheet of LDF government
access_time 22 May 2024 4:58 AM GMT
Ebrahim Raisi
access_time 21 May 2024 5:20 AM GMT
Chabahar Port
access_time 20 May 2024 4:00 AM GMT
What is the remedy for this negligence?
access_time 18 May 2024 12:07 PM GMT
Fake encounters should stop
access_time 17 May 2024 8:41 AM GMT
May the judiciarys vigilance continue
access_time 16 May 2024 5:15 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Ramadan: Its essence and lessons
access_time 13 March 2024 9:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightAssembly Election...

Assembly Election Result 2022: Counting of votes begins in five states

Assembly Election Result 2022: Counting of votes begins in five states

New Delhi: The Assembly Election Results in five states, including the politically significant Uttar Pradesh, will be declared today. The counting of votes from the state polls held in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur began today at 8 am.

Most of the exit polls have predicted a clear victory for the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party in Uttar Pradesh and Manipur, an edge in Uttarakhand, and a close contest in Goa. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) could make a huge leap in Punjab as exit polls have suggested a massive victory, with one pollster predicting up to 111 for Arvind Kejriwal's party in 117-member assembly.

Congress will be betting against the exit poll results for Punjab, where it is incumbent, and hoping that the neck-to-neck fight in Goa and Uttarakhand, as predicted by the pollsters, turn out in its favour.

The assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh - held in seven phases over a month - witnessed a high-octane campaign between the ruling BJP and Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party. Seeking to override anti-incumbency, the BJP raised issues like law-and-order problems during the Samajwadi Party government and dubbed its rivals as "dynasts living in palaces and moving in big cars".

Meanwhile, the BSP, which led a low-key campaign, for the most part, targeted the rivals on issues of inflation, poverty, unemployment and stray cattle menace.

In Punjab, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has emerged as a big challenger to the Congress which is riddled by infighting. Other contenders in the poll battle include the Shiromani Akali Dal and former Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh's Punjab Lok Congress, which has joined hands with the BJP.

The hill state of Uttarakhand witnessed a three-pronged contest with the ruling BJP, Congress and Aam Aadmi Party vying for power in the 70-seat assembly.

The Assembly polls in Goa were held in a single phase this time and all 40 constituencies voted the same day. With defections and horse-trading emerging as a key poll issue in the state, several parties, including Congress, have made attempts to safeguard their candidates.

In Manipur, the BJP has gone solo and contested all seats alone. Congress, on the other hand, has allied with six political parties and named it Manipur Progressive Secular Alliance.

Show Full Article

Live Updates

  • BJP leading on 42 Uttarakhand assembly seats, but CM Dhami trails
    10 March 2022 4:59 AM GMT

    BJP leading on 42 Uttarakhand assembly seats, but CM Dhami trails

    The BJP is now leading in 42 Uttarakhand assembly constituencies. However, CM Pushkar Singh Dhami is trailing by 900 votes to Congress' Bhuwan Kapri.

    The ruling BJP is seeking a second consecutive term in office this time, something which has never happened in the state's 21-year history.

    Meanwhile, former Uttarakhand CM and Congress leader Harish Rawat is now trailing by 7,085 votes, shows EC trends around 10:25 am on Thursday.

    Notably, exit polls have predicted a hung house in Uttarakhand with Congress and BJP in close fight, while the leaders of both the parties have exuded confidence of winning the elections this time. 

  • 10 March 2022 4:47 AM GMT

    BJP crosses half-way mark in UP, shows early trends

    BJP crosses the half-way mark in Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2022, as per early trends, leading on 236 seats. The saffron party, led by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, is looking to retain its power in the state. The Samajwadi Party (SP) is leading in 86 seats. Congress and BSP are leading in 6 and 4 seats each respectively.

TAGS:Assembly Elections 2022Punjab assembly pollsGoa assembly pollsUP assembly pollsUttarakhand assembly pollsmanipur assembly polls
Next Story