Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
When toxins flow through Periyar once again
access_time 23 May 2024 5:34 AM GMT
Eight years balance sheet of LDF government
access_time 22 May 2024 4:58 AM GMT
Ebrahim Raisi
access_time 21 May 2024 5:20 AM GMT
Chabahar Port
access_time 20 May 2024 4:00 AM GMT
What is the remedy for this negligence?
access_time 18 May 2024 12:07 PM GMT
Fake encounters should stop
access_time 17 May 2024 8:41 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Ramadan: Its essence and lessons
access_time 13 March 2024 9:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightAssamchevron_rightAssam Poll Result...

Assam Poll Result Live: CM Sonowal Thanks Modi for BJP victory

Assam Poll Result Live: CM Sonowal Thanks Modi for BJP victory
Live Updates below
Show Full Article

Live Updates

  • 2 May 2021 1:19 PM GMT

    Trends from Assam poll results: Activist Akhil Gogoi wins from Sibsagar constituency

    Trends from Assam poll results: Activist Akhil Gogoi wins against Surabhi Rajkonwar of Bharatiya Janta Party in Sibsagar constituency. 

  • 2 May 2021 12:09 PM GMT

    Sonowal calls the win 'victory for Barak-Brahmaputra, Hills and Plains'

    Assam Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal took to Twitter to laud the party's win in the state in the assembly elections.

    Sonowal called the win a 'victory for Barak-Brahmaputra, Hills and Plains' and also thanked PM Modi. 

  • 2 May 2021 11:41 AM GMT

    Himanta Sarma wins by a margin of one lakh votes

    With a whopping majority, wins by over one lakh votes in Jalukbari LAC. This will be his fifth straight win. He is an Ex-Congress person who switched to BJP alleging the Congress of neglecting true workers. Today, he is the face of the saffron party in the northeast.

  • 2 May 2021 11:35 AM GMT

    Congress bounces back in Thowra

    Congress candidate Sushanta Borgohain won the Thowra seat against BJP's Kushal Dowari bouncing back from earlier failure.

    In the 2016 Assam Assembly elections, Kushal Dowari had won in this seat by defeating Sushanta Borgohain of INC by a margin of 1,226 votes which was 1.43% of the total votes polled in the constituency. BJP had a vote share of 48.42% in 2016 in the seat.

  • FM Nirmala Sitharaman praises Assam CM for  BJPs poll victory
    2 May 2021 11:30 AM GMT

    FM Nirmala Sitharaman praises Assam CM for BJP's poll victory

     Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman praised Assam CM  Sarbanand Sonwal for winning the assembly polls.

    "Congratulations @sarbanandsonwal on being blessed by the people of Assam. Carrying forward people centric policies of @PMOIndia & @BJP4India with @JPNadda leading from the front, you have well served the state. Wishing FM @himantabiswa for his energetic role. @BJP4Assam" tweeted minister 

  • 2 May 2021 11:08 AM GMT

    Congress tastes success again in Boko Constituency

     Congress MLA Nandita Das has won the Boko seat by defeating her closest opponent Jyoti Prasad Das of AGP.

    In the 2016 Assam Assembly elections, Nandita Das had won this seat by defeating Jyoti Prasad Das of AGP by a margin of 17,594 votes which was 9.97% of the total votes polled in the constituency. INC had a vote share of 39.66% in 2016 in the seat.

  • Thank people of Assam for decisive mandate: MoS PMO Jitendra Singh
    2 May 2021 10:53 AM GMT

    Thank people of Assam for 'decisive mandate': MoS PMO Jitendra Singh

    MoS PMO Jitendra Singh thanked the people of Assam for reposing faith in the BJP government and returning them to power for a second term through a ' decisive mandate'.

    "I thank the people of #Assam from the bottom of my heart for having reposed faith in #BJP and voted in support from across all the sections to give a second term with a spectacular decisive mandate. Credit goes to PM Sh @NarendraModi who led from the front. Also Party President Sh @JPNadda and HM Sh @AmitShah who energised the election campaign. And, above all, the Party Karyakartas who toiled day and night, and worked among the common masses at all times, inall situations and under all circumstances.Congrats @SarbanandSonwal, @HimantaBiswa, @RanjeetkrDass" he tweeted/ 

    He opined that the state has undergone a lot of change after 2014. Stressing that Assam also fared better than the rest of the country when dealing with COVID-19, he claimed that people realised the benefit of BJP led government at the state and Centre which will particularly benefit the youth and women.

    Refusing to reveal the party's CM choice, Singh revealed that a decision will be taken with consultation of the highest echelon of BJP leaders after the results are notified. 

  • Rajnath Singh applauds Centre for BJPs victory in Assam
    2 May 2021 10:42 AM GMT

    Rajnath Singh applauds Centre for BJP's 'victory' in Assam

    Defence Minister Rajnath Singh applauded the policies of the Centre and the Sonowal-led government for BJP's 'victory' in Assam.

    " The pro-people policies of Shri @narendramodi led Govt & the state Govt under @sarbanandsonwal have once again helped the BJP in winning assembly elections in Assam. Congratulations to PM Modi, CM Sonowal, Adhyaksh Shri @JPNadda & karyakartas on BJP’s impressive victory in Assam" he tweeted 

  • 2 May 2021 10:28 AM GMT

    Congress claims Grand Alliance will form govt. in Assam

    The Congress has claimed that the Grand Alliance of opposition parties will emerge victoriously and form the government in Assam once final results are out despite trends showing a comeback for BJP. The ruling BJP-led NDA in Assam is leading in 74 assembly seats. The BJP is leading inalliance 55, while its partners - Asom Gana Parishad is ahead in 11 and United People's Party, Liberal in 8 seats.

    The Congress is leading in 28 seats, while its ally AIUDF in 14 and Bodoland People's Front in two, as per the trends.

  • 2 May 2021 10:22 AM GMT

    Prashant Phukan holds on Dibrugarh

    Incumbent MLA Prashant Phukan retained his seat from Dibrugarh by beating Congress' Rajkumar Neog with a margin of 3,900 votes. He has served as the Dibrugarh MLA since 2006. 

TAGS:Assembly Elections 2021Assam Election Updates
Next Story