Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightAssamchevron_rightAssam assembly poll...

Assam assembly poll results: Key takeaways

Assam assembly poll results: Key takeaways

The BJP is all set to form the government for the second consecutive term in Assam. While the NDA won 74 seats, the Congress alliance won 50, the Assam Jatiya Parishad alliance won a seat and an independent candidate won one.

While the incumbent CM Sarbananda Sonowal won again from Majuli, BJP's star campaigner Himanta Biswa Sarma won for the fifth time from the Jalukbari constituency, defeating the Congress candidate Roman Chandra Borthakur with a margin of over a lakh. Though Congress' Rakibul Hussain won in Samaguri and Debabrata Saikia won in Nazira, Congress state president Ripun Bora lost the Gohpur seat.

The BJP reaped the most votes from Upper Assam with 42 seats in the region, and the Congress found most support in lower Assam where it won 29 seats against BJP's 21. While the BJP won 46% vote share, Congress won approximately 44% vote share.

The BPF, a former ally of the BJP who switched to an alliance with the Congress after the BJP allied with United People's Party Liberal (UPPL), witnessed severe losses. Their Ministers Pramila Rani Brahma, Chandan Brahma and Rihon Daimary lost in this assembly polls.

The CPM, who allied with Congress, won the Sorbhog seat. Manoranjan Talukdar won against BJP's Sankar Chandra Das with a margin of over 10,000 votes.

Activist and President of Raijor Dal, Akhil Gogoi, won the Sibsagar constituency, defeating BJP candidate Surabhi Rajkonwari by a margin of over 9,000 votes, from jail. He was arrested in December 2019 on charges of sedition during the anti-CAA movement.

Show Full Article
TAGS:#Assembly electionsAssam
Next Story